+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: The Job Thread

Default The Job Thread

I made this thread for a few reasons. One is just to learn more about people by what kind of work they do. Another reason is for those who are or will be looking for jobs in the future. By knowing the type of jobs that are out there, people can have a better idea of what they can do to get that job, or use that job to eventually get the job they want. You can post about the job you currently have, one you used to have, or even the job you hope to have.

My title is Marine Mammal Observer (MMO) and PAM (Passive Acoustic Monitoring) Operator. I go out on Seismic vessels that are looking for oil reserves offshore in the Gulf of Mexico. As a MMO, I look out for dolphins, whales, and turtles and direct the crew what to do in different scenarios to mitigate the damage done to marine life. As a PAM Operator, I listen for the animals. Hydrophones are deployed in the water that will pick up the noise of clicks, whistles, and songs made from dolphins and whales. This is done during the night, when visual watch can't be done.

I'm on a boat for 5 week periods, and then I'm back home for 5 week periods, unless I want a longer or shorter time home. On the boat, I work everyday, but while at home I'm free to do what ever I want and don't work at all. So what kind of work do you do/ have done/ hope to do?

Default Re: The Job Thread

My job is 「White Mage」

I'm the licensing director at a Movie Distributor and also i translate. I also manage sites (Desdelglobo.com y Terrar.io) but i don't get paid for those so i don't know if they count. Also, i write (buy my latest book here http://mx.casadellibro.com/libro-llu...142246/2240175 or buy it directly from me) I also vanquish evil specters at night but that's a hobby.
    Working thru some stuff. Dunno how long i will be here.

Quote Originally Posted by Prismeru View Post